Support local journalism by subscribing today! Click Here to see our current offers.

Updates to health and safety guidance to be posted at

PORTLAND — Governor Kate Brown announced Wednesday, June 3, details about Phase 2 of reopening, under her framework for building a safe and strong Oregon. There are 31 counties that can apply to enter Phase 2 on Friday, June 5.

All but 10 counties have applied for Phase 2.

“I want to say thank you to each and every Oregonian who has made sacrifices to protect the health and safety of our communities,” said Governor Brown. “Your leadership — you choosing to be both kind and smart — is why we have been able to start the reopening process.”

“Any reopening comes with risk. That’s just a fact of life right now. So we need to reduce the risk that comes with reopening. So, fellow Oregonians, you have another chance to shine. A chance to show that you are looking out for your friends, family, and neighbors.”

The Oregon Health Authority is reviewing the COVID-19 metrics and data for counties that have applied for Phase 2, and on June 4 the Governor’s Office will announce the initial counties entering Phase 2.

Criteria for entering Phase 2

Phase 2 continues the county-by-county approach to reopening. Counties can be approved to enter Phase 2 only if they have been in Phase 1 for at least 21 days and are succeeding in controlling the spread of the virus. Counties approved to enter Phase 2 must continue to meet Phase 1 metrics, including: 

• Declining disease prevalence

• Having an adequate number of contact tracers, including people reflective of the communities they serve

• Establishing adequate testing, isolation and quarantine facilities, sufficient hospital surge capacity, and sufficient personal protective equipment supply

Counties must also meet additional prerequisites, including:

• Demonstrating that they can trace new cases within 24 hours

• As counties see new cases, they must be able to identify where they are coming from at least 70% of the time

• Counties cannot be experiencing a significant increase in cases

New Guidance for Phase 2

Counties that enter Phase 2 will be able to continue with the reopening process, following updated health and safety guidance:

• Gathering limits will be raised to 50 people indoors, and 100 people outdoors.

• Indoor and outdoor venues, including theaters and churches, with 6 feet of physical distancing and other measures in place, can reach a COVID-19 occupancy limit of up to 250.

• Offices can begin reopening and employees can return to workplaces with physical distancing and other measures in place, though remote work is still strongly recommended whenever possible.

• Increased travel will be allowed throughout Oregon, though staying local is still recommended to prevent overloading county health systems.

• Restaurants and bars will have curfews extended to midnight.

• Pools and sports courts will be allowed to reopen under the new guidance.

• Indoor and outdoor activities such as bowling, batting cages, and mini-golf, will be allowed to reopen under the new guidance.

• Recreational sports can resume in a limited form, under strict physical distancing guidance.

Additional Statewide Guidance

For all counties, including those remaining in Phase 1 or on baseline status:

 •Zoos, gardens, and museums can reopen in a limited fashion.

• Professional and collegiate sports teams can return to training in their facilities with physical distancing and health and safety measures in place.

Updates to sector-specific guidance will be made available at The Governor’s Office continues to work with the Oregon Health Authority to update health and safety guidance for the reopening process. Members of the public with questions about the reopening process are encouraged to visit


Featured Print Ads

Online Poll

What are your thoughts on enforcement of government rules about wearing a face mask because of COVID-19?

Please choose the option that best reflects your opinion.

You voted:

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

1. Be Civil. No bullying, name calling, or insults.
2. Keep it Clean and Be Nice. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
3. Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
4. Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
5. Be Proactive. Let us know of abusive posts. Multiple reports will take a comment offline.
6. Stay On Topic. Any comment that is not related to the original post will be deleted.
7. Abuse of these rules will result in the thread being disabled, comments denied, and/or user blocked.