More than two decades ago, the Chetco Pelican Players was established and soon afterward, began presenting awards known as the PACKY andndash; Performing Arts Center Krazy Year.

Although the Players now have its shows at the Chetco Playhouse, the words in the award title, Krazy Year, still apply.

The 2011 season was plagued with schedule changes, faced with show cancellations and had more thespians die than any previous season, yet the theater group managed to pull it off, with most of the shows receiving several awards.

"Fuddy Meers," "Nunsensations" and "The 39 Steps" topped the list, each receiving four awards, "Treasure Island" won two. However, it was "The 39 Steps" that won the coveted Best Overall Production Award.

Also performed during the season were "Kitchen Witches" and "The Little Prince," along with several special fundraiser shows andndash;andensp;"Radio Daze" and "Love Letters," two movie presentations and lectures by Elmo Williams, and "Slaughter Mall" haunted house.

The formal evening, which included a buffet by Claire Willard, began with an opening skit by the 2012 board of directors. New President Mary Anne Trailor then gave a speech pleading for community involvement.

"We need your help," Trailor told the audience. "Without you and the community, we won't live to see 25 years of presenting plays." The Chetco Pelican Players will reach its 25-year milestone during the 2013 season.

Not only does the theater company need financial support, but volunteers to help with makeup, costumes and many other backstage chores, Trailor said.

Awards were then presented by hosts Ariel Farris, Jason Liddell, Steven Scruggs and Liska Teague. Between awards, the hosts also introduced video clips of plays.

In addition to the PACKY Awards for the various roles, special awards were given, including the Young Thespian Award, which is presented to all actors who were younger than 18 during their performance, said Susan Brickley, who presented the awards.

The Stan Weisenborn Award, given for music, was presented to pianist William Hedge, who came to the rescue to bring "Nunsensations" to the stage after the show was canceled for lack of a piano player. "Nunsensations" was the only musical performed during the season. It was presented by an all-female cast.

The Moran Family Award, which goes back before the existence of the Chetco Pelican Players, was presented to the Scruggs family andndash; Randy, Kim, Steven and Kelly. The award began more than 40 years ago when Past President Mike Moran was in high school. The award is presented to a family that has been involved in theater. This year, the award was presented by June Checchi, Moran's mother.

The Bill Schlichting Journalism Excellence Award, chosen by the theater board of directors, was presented by Lon Goddard and Willard to Bruce Ellis.

Goddard was presented the "Host With the Most" award for his hosting the lectures and films by Elmo Williams during the past six years. The series began with "High Noon" and came full circle and ended with a repeat of the movie for which Brookings resident Williams won an Oscar.

The Steve Stevens Award, given to a person who works behind the scenes for the theater, was presented to Dale Baker, who has helped out in many ways during the past several years, but has only been on stage once, aside from playing Dracula at the theater group's haunted house since the event began.

The Chetco Pelican Players also honored Andy Drago and Carl Herman, who were founders of the group and passed away in 2011, along with thespians Bryan Skidmore and Nathan Dodgen.