Support local journalism by subscribing today! Click Here to see our current offers.

Curry Student Success Fund has just completed its third year of awarding scholarships to local students, and we proudly announce that we were able to award $8,750.00 to 11 Curry County students continuing their education this year.

Curry Student Success Fund (CSSF) is a 501c3 non-profit that was formed in 2018 in response to a local scholarship fund excluding home school and Christian School students from applying for scholarships. The mission of CSSF is to reach students that have been excluded from scholarship opportunities either because they were privately educated, received a GED, graduated from another community, or have had a lot of years in between high school and further education. We encourage public school applicants also, especially students that may be pursuing trade school or certification programs. Our goal is to assist local people who are trying to improve their opportunity’s; and in the process, hopefully we improve Curry County one person at a time.

Since early 2018 CSSF has assisted 17 students; students from a variety of backgrounds (home school, Christian school, public school, and adults returning to school). These students are pursuing many different educational opportunities (computers, nursing, midwifery, licensed counselor, lineman certification, cosmetology certification, graphic arts, medical clerical certification, maritime industries, digital game design, and physical therapy).

“We are off to a good start, and we have a goal to offer so much more,” CSSF officials said. “The impact of the pandemic has hit us. Events such as the baccalaureate and ChariTree were canceled this year; and fund raising is difficult in our current ‘socially distanced’ climate.

“We know it has been a tough year for everyone in so many ways, and we all have concerns about the future; but if you have an interest in becoming involved with CSSF or supporting CSSF, please contact us. We’d love to talk to you!”

For more information, contact Ed Schreiber at 541-469-9850, visit the website: or email

The 2020 award recipients are:

Chloe McCrae — physical therapy Landen Timeus — maritime industries Alisha Carroll — medical clerical Malaika Bacon — computer information systems digital design

Gemma Cowan — elementary education

Everett VanMaren — digital desgin/ game design and business administration

Karen Schaefer — accounting

Moriah Koch — nursing

Sierra Rose — cosmetology

Tiffany VanMaren — midwifery

and one anonymous — nursing


Online Poll

What is your favorite St. Patrick's Day tradition?

You voted:

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

1. Be Civil. No bullying, name calling, or insults.
2. Keep it Clean and Be Nice. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
3. Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
4. Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
5. Be Proactive. Let us know of abusive posts. Multiple reports will take a comment offline.
6. Stay On Topic. Any comment that is not related to the original post will be deleted.
7. Abuse of these rules will result in the thread being disabled, comments denied, and/or user blocked.