Brendan Yu
Curry Coastal Pilot

A bevy of student athletes, volunteers and coaches were honored at the Brookings-Harbor High School year-end banquet last Wednesday.

First, all athletes who participated in three sports this past school year received a three-star “Power of a Team” pin for their lettermen’s jacket. Athletes who earned all-league and all-state honors were then recognized.

The next-presented award was The Booster Club Award, which was for juniors only, and recognized athletes who have been three-sport athletes their 9th, 10th, and 11th grade year.

Isaac Cooper, Kayla Watson and Shawntisha Bailey each received the award.

Coaches were presented with service pins that commemorated their various years of service to the teams. More than 50 volunteers, including several coaches and members of the school district, were given a certificate to recognize their contributions to athletics during the school year.

After recognizing a multitude of recipients in their first round of awards throughout the day, the final awards of the night were only awarded to select individual athletes.

The Senior Academic Award, given to a male and female athlete with the highest GPA and who earned at least two varsity letters, was awarded to seniors Patrick Fulton and Ashley Shew.

Next up was the Senior Athlete “Spirit of a Champion” Award, given to the highest point-scoring male and female athlete in the senior class. Points are accrued through playing a sport, all-league and all-state recognition, and being a three-sport athlete.

David Freeman Jr. and Sienna Worthey came away with the honors— and then some. On top of a certificate, both athletes were given engraved plaques and a sizable poster of themselves.

The next presentation was the “Awards for Excellence,” and given to Bret Drager and Sabrina Christopher for “exemplary display of sportsmanship, ethics and integrity.”

The final student athlete award of the night was for male and female Athlete of the Year, and in a Brookings-Harbor first, awards were given to seniors Abbey Schreiber and Siena Worthey, while Freeman and Alonzo Nalls were the male athletes of the year.

Finally, the Bruin Spirit Award for Lifetime Achievement was given to David Freeman, who served nearly two decades as the head wrestling coach for the Bruins.