Wrestlers present Thursday night

The Brookings-Harbor High School wrestling team fed athletes, coaches and parents alike on Thursday night as they presented the 2011-2012 wrestlers with their awards for completion of a successful season.

Assistant Coach Ramon Nunez made the presentations in place of Head Coach Dave Freeman and was effusive in his praise for the 12 wrestlers who made it all the way through the season.

"I've been involved with wrestling for a long time," Nunez said, "and I don't think I've ever been with a team that went through as much as our team did."

Even when things got tough, the Bruin wrestlers receiving their varsity letters and certificates of achievement were those who stuck with the program and didn't give up, according to Nunez.

Four Bruins received certificates of achievement marking their hard work in the program over the last season. They included David Joyce, John Joyce, Sam Strom and Anthony Peterson.

Wrestlers who received their varsity letter awards include Adan Brambila, Christian Hooper, Tyler Marrington, Ethan Williams, Brandon Holteen, CJ Paxton, Cole Hannan and Isaac Sanders.

Nunez also recognized the team manager, Katie Lundquist, for her hard work and dedication to the team.

In presenting the awards Nunez made mention of two wrestlers, Hannan and Paxton, who were state placers at the OSAA 4A state wrestling tournament. Hannan took third place and Paxton took fifth.

After Nunez concluded his speech, Hannan took the podium for a moment to thank the coaches and others who had helped during the season and encourage the wrestlers to come out next season.

"We'll have two state placers coming back next year and I hope we'll have 12 state placers next year," Hannan said. "That's my dream."

Cheerleaders present Wednesday

The Brookings-Harbor High School cheerleading team held a banquet on Wednesday night to honor those athletes who chose to be cheerleaders during the 2011-2012 sports season.

Head Coach Jenny Willis opened the ceremony with a rousing speech about cheerleading definitively qualifying as a sport, and how proud she was of the girls who dedicated up to 10 months of their lives to be part of the squad.

The Cheerleading team qualified for the state tournament for the second year in a row and were able to claim a third place finish in Willis' first year as head coach.

"Placing third at state is something that I will always be proud of," Willis said. "I hope the girls are proud, too."

Willis presented each of the qualifying cheerleaders with their varsity letters.

Seniors who received their varsity letter included Ashley Bevan, Shelby Henderson, Captains Karen Fairchild and Heidi Aguirre, Jazzmine Nelson, Christie Justason, Katie Cone and Nichole Cessnun.

Juniors included Manya Bruce, Carmen Hooper, Mariah Baron, Kaleigh Brown, Samantha Mellow, Kaleen Bishop and Elizabeth Olsen.

Sophomores included Haiyley Murray, Linzee Murray, Michaela George, Morgen Verdugo and Mikaela Lea.

The only two freshman to receive their varsity letters were Courtney Watwood and Samantha Rhoades.

After presenting the varsity letters, Willis presented the team awards.

MVC (Most Valuable Cheerleader): Karen Fairchild.

"Karen is a diehard cheerleader," Willis said. "She is anything and everything you could imagine in a cheerleader."

The Heart of a Cheerleader: Mikaela Lea.

What Would We Do Without You Award: Kaleigh Brown.

Most Improved: Samantha Rhoades.

Coaches Awards: Heidi Aguirre and Samantha Mellow.

Flyer of the Year: Ashley Bevan.

Back Spot of the Year: Manya Bruce.

Base of the Year: Hailey Murray.

Future Captain Award: Morgen Verdugo.