GOLD BEACH andndash; Ballots for the May 15 Primary Election were being mailed out Friday and today (Saturday), Curry County Clerk Reneandeacute; Kolen said Friday.

"There are only 11 business days before the election," she said.

The 24-hour, ballot drive-up drop boxes, located at Brookings and Port Orford city halls and next to the courthouse in Gold Beach, will open on Wednesday and will remain open until 8 p.m. election day. The ballots also may be returned by mail but they must arrive at the elections office on election day or before.

"Postmarks don't count," Kolen said.

Kolen said that any registered voter who does not receive a ballot by May 4 should contact the elections office.

Voters will find plenty of candidates to choose from in this year's two races for Curry County commissioner, but all other races on the May county primary ballot will be a single choice.

There are five candidates for Commissioner Position 2, now held by incumbent George Rhodes of Brookings. Those candidates are Rhodes, former commissioner Lucie La Bontandeacute; of Gold Beach, David Brock Smith of Port Orford, Randy Dubbs Dowler of Brookings and Leroy Blodgett of Brookings.

There are four candidates for Commissioner Position 3, now held by incumbent Commissioner Bill Waddle of Brookings. Those candidates are Waddle, the county's former director of Economic Development Susan Brown of Gold Beach, Greg Empson of Gold Beach and John Herzog of Brookings.

All county offices are nonpartisan. Any one candidate with a majority of votes cast in the primary election will be declared elected. If no one in either of the commissioner races has 50 percent of the votes plus 1, there will be a runoff in the November general election.

County Commission Position 1 is held by David Itzen, who is now in his second year on the board. That position will not appear on the ballot until 2014.

Other candidates on the Curry County ballot are the only candidate to file for the that position and all are the current officeholders.

They are:

andbull;Sheriff andndash; John Bishop.

andbull;Treasurer andndash; Deborah Crumley.

andbull;County Clerk andndash; Reneandeacute; Kolen.

andbull;County Assessor andndash; Jim Kolen.

andbull;District Attorney andndash; Everett Dial, who is an elected state official.

Residents of the Central Curry School District 1 will also see a five-year local option levy for school operations on their ballot.