GOLD BEACH The final voter turnout for Tuesdays special district election was 39.14 percent, with 5,643 ballots turned in from among the 14,414 registered voters in Curry County.

With final unofficial results in from Curry, Coos and Douglas counties, Marcia Jensen won position No. 2 on the Southwestern Oregon Community College board with 8,798 votes to 6,938 for Clara Radcliffe.

David Bridgham won position No. 4 with 9,962 votes to 5,359 for Scott Frasieur. Carol Oelke won position No. 5 with 10,213 votes to 5,519 for Gary Marconi.

Michael Murray of Gold Beach, the only candidate from Curry County, won position No. 7 with 9,289 votes to 5,216 for Scott Malby.

The winners of each position won the majority of votes in each of the three counties in the college district.

The unofficial final results for position No. 2 on the Brookings-Harbor School District 17-C race were 1,944 votes for Bill Ferry and 947 for Tom Davis.

In the Port of Brookings Harbor Port District board race, John Zia won with 1,592 votes. Bill Nokes received 1,272.

The unofficial final results are also in for write-in races in which no one filed for the position.

In a rare occurrence for Curry County, Olive Wooldridge, who had the only name on the ballot for position No. 3 on the Wedderburn Sanitary District board, lost the race when her 18 votes were topped by 24 write-in votes for Rolland Niles.

Donald Vines won position No. 2 on the Chetco Community Public Library District board with 88 out of 104 write-in votes cast.

Bob Fitton won position No. 1 on the Suburban Rural Fire Protection District board with 15 out of 16 write-in votes.

Position No. 3 in the same district is still up in the air with a tie between John Butter and Mike Smith. Each received two of the eight write-in votes cast.

Wayne Moore won position No. 2 on the Sixes Rural Fire Protection District board with nine votes out of 31.

Tedson Briggs won position No. 4 on the Ophir Rural Fire Protection board with five votes out of 28.

Rachel Koski won position No. 2 on the Nesika Beach Water District board with 14 votes out of 30.

R.G. Williams won position No. 1 on the Rivers End Water District board with the only write-in vote cast.

Kristen Williams also won position No. 1 on the Rivers End Sanitary District board with the only write-in vote cast.

The Curry Coastal Pilot
This image is copyrighted.

Brooking's autos, jobs, real estate and merchandise.

Ads appear Online and in Print

View Classifieds

Connect with The Curry Coastal Pilot

Curry Pilot Newsstand

Wednesday May 24, 2017

Read digital interactive editions of our publications

Read Latest Edition Take A Tour
View All Publications