Six faculty and non-teaching staff members at Brookings-Harbor School District have been selected for exceptional service recognition awards.

The selections were recently made by the school board from 24 nominations that came from the public and the school staff.

Some of those honored received more than one nomination. The people selected will receive plaques from the school board and $500 checks.

Those chosen were:

Pat Cox, bus driver.

Chris McKay, principal at Kalmiopsis Elementary School.

Ted Burdett, social studies teacher at Brookings-Harbor High School.

Betty Siegrist, social studies teacher at Azalea Middle School.

Greg Shinn, district head groundskeeper.

Dixie Evers, computer specialist at Kalmiopsis.

The service award program began in the 1992-93 school year. At the April 16 school board meeting, board president Brian Larsson said it was hard to narrow the choice of finalists to just six this year.

It was a difficult decision. There are so many talented people on staff, but we had to pare it down to six.

Boardmember Tom Davis said of Burdett, Its great to recognize him for his phenomenal service to the district.

Boardmember Mary Van Hoesen said about Shinn, He does an excellent job.

Jeanne Sever said Evers deserved to be selected because of her efforts to set up a state-of-the-art computer classroom at Kalmiopsis. Shes doing a phenomenal job with the kids.

McKay, who was at the board meeting and didnt know she had been selected, said she was caught by surprise.

I was just dumfounded. Its very humbling, she said.

You are just so loved, Van Hoesen told McKay.

Davis said it was tough to select just six finalists. There is no one not deserving of the award.

He said the nominations are particularly heartfelt because they come from co-workers.

Others at Kalmiopsis nominated this year were: Ana Marie Banta, Rose Hedenskog, Wanda Russell and Glenda Wilber.

From Upper Chetco School: Selina Patton and Vickey Smith.

From Azalea: Tony Hernandez, Shelly Matson and Tina Peters.

From the high school: Alain Chirinian, Steve Kucharski, Darlene Jones, Diane Kinney, Lynda McDonald, Jerry Moffit, Wendy Pieren and Christina Stamm.

District wide personnel: Mark Spurgeon.

All those nominated, but not selected, will receive a letter of appreciation from the school board.