>Brookings Oregon News, Sports, & Weather | The Curry Coastal Pilot

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

News arrow News arrow Sports arrow Basketball award winners announced


Basketball award winners announced

The Brookings-Harbor High School boys and girls basketball teams recently announced their award winners for the 2013-2014 season. 

Both the Bruins and Lady Bruins had winning seasons with deep playoff runs as their teams were ripe with all-league talent. Both teams were also recognized by making the Dairy Farmers Academic List, an honor bestowed upon teams having a GPA over 3.0. Additionally, all 12 Lady Bruin varsity players have an individual GPA over 3.0. 

The Lady Bruins finished the season at 23-4 (10-2 in league), good enough for second in the Far West league. They qualified for the 4A state finals at Gil Colisuem before losing to eventual champion Sutherlin.

The Bruins finished 15-9 (7-5 in league) and won a play-in game at Junction City before falling at Tillamook, just one win away from the state finals.

The award winners were as follows:

Boys team

Far West League Honors: 1st Team All-League - Ronnie Manley; 2nd Team All-League - Justin Murray; All-League Honorable Mention - Dexter Vaughn; All-Defensive Team - Jake Vaughn.

Varsity Team Awards: Best Defender - Jake Vaughn; Most Inspirational - Justin Murray; Most Improved - Derek Hodge and Dexter Vaughn.

JV Team Awards: Best Defender - Riley Frazier; Most Inspirational - Buell Gonzales III; Most Improved - Brandon Curtis. 

Freshman Team Awards: Best Defender - Noah James; Most Inspirational - Fernando Lira; Most Improved - Matt Morris.

Girls team

Far West League Honors: 1st Team All-League - Drew Farmer, 2nd Team All-League - Iva Hart, All-League Honorable Mention - Mallory McDonald and Francesca Farr; All-Defensive Team - Drew Farmer.

4A All-State Honorable Mention - Drew Farmer. 

 State Tournament Moda Player of the Game: Courtney Kay - Sutherlin game; Drew Farmer - Henley game.

Varsity Team Awards: Offensive MVP - Drew Farmer; Defensive MVP - Mallory McDonald; Most Improved - Brenna Clarke and Francesca Farr.


Follow Curry Coastal Pilot headlines on Follow Curry Coastal Pilot headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2016 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use