>Brookings Oregon News, Sports, & Weather | The Curry Coastal Pilot

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

News arrow Opinion

Opinion
Start early with reading
Editorials
August 02, 2013 09:45 pm
 
Letters to the Editor August 3, 2013
Letters
August 02, 2013 09:43 pm
 
Fix homes, create jobs
Editorials
July 30, 2013 08:54 pm
 
Letters to the Editor July 20, 2013
Letters
July 19, 2013 08:29 pm

Our girl is home safe

We are so happy to tell everyone that Marilyn Grimsley is home with her Mother and the rest of her family that loves, and missed her so much. 

To every single person who let us put flyers in your establishments, thank you so much. To every person who called with information or who just called to say they hoped we found her soon and just to help bolster our spirits, thank you. To the Curry County Sheriff’s Office and their personnel who helped us as much as the law would allow, thank you very much. Detective Gardiner thank you, by putting out the alert that we needed to make sure this little girl was OK to other police in Washington and Oregon we were able to find her and bring her home. Thank you. The very happy and relieved Grimsley family. 

Kelly Grimsley,

Brookings

Racial hatred

The title depicts exactly what our Attorney General Eric Holder is doing to our country. You must go back to before the 1960s to see anything this bad.

I was introduced to racial hatred in 1959. The Milwaukee Braves had a working agreement with the Sacramento Solons and they asked the Solons to send me to their spring training so they could see my abilities as a future catcher. I was in awe watching Hank Aaron take batting practice after his winning rookie of the year the year before.

That very day I found out that the black players ( this is before African American was forced on everyone) could not stay in our hotel.

I was appalled. The organization was forced to find black families in Bradenton, Florida, to house those players. 

In 1960 I was drafted by the Philadelphia Phillies and it was the first year that the hotels in Florida opened up for the blacks.

Shortly after Obama was elected by the white vote (more whites voted for him than blacks) Eric Holder said whites were cowards for not discussing racial issues. Since Holder made that statement he has actively and vehemently been a hate monger against whites. He should have been relieved of his duties before “ fast and furious”.

Where are you liberals now that Obama has lost his moncho? If you keep listening to the left wing press and are not getting the truth, then go ahead and stay uninformed. Your readers will skip over your articles, oh wait, you’ve stopped writing.

Clay Dalrymple

Gold Beach

Field day at field day

On behalf of Friends of the Brookings Harbor Aquatic Center, I sincerely hope you had a great time at the Fourth of July BBQ & Field Day at Azalea Park! 

It was so wonderful to see families, friends and visitors in our local park enjoying each other’s company and celebrating the Fourth of July. We have so many thanks to offer for ensuring the success of our event! 

Our amazing volunteers! Wow. You are incredible and really put yourself out there to make sure our event was that much better. We even had folks attending who helped out when needed! Thank you! 

Thanks to the City of Brookings for letting us use the park, the USCG Chetco River Station Color Guard, Les Cohen, our MC, Steve Braun our Pie auctioneer, Moonspoon for providing some fantastic live music, Alex Escobar for singing the national anthem, Drop It Low Entertainment our DJ, and our Best Pie Ever judges: Les Cohen, Steve Braun, Sean Solomon, and Robert Dahl. We appreciate all of our sponsors who supported this event and the work that we are doing. Thank you for your support and helping to make this event possible! 

We also appreciate all the retailers, local crafters and donors to our silent auction, contests and raffle. You have been unbelievably generous to us and we thank you. This event offers just a glimpse of the vitality an indoor recreation and aquatic center could add to our community. 

Let’s Make It Happen. 

Juliane Leighton, MD FBHAC chair/director This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it , www.fbhac.org

Brookings

 
Something for everyone
Editorials
July 19, 2013 08:28 pm

The Event Center at the Beach is buzzing with activity as volunteers and vendors, cooks and cowgirls, entertainers and exhibitors all get ready for the 101st edition of the Curry County Fair.

It’s a slice of Americana that offers something for everyone. Robotics, dog show, baby races, a magician, condors, a battle of the bands, motorsports, a drum corps, BMX riding, livestock auctions, and lots of traditional fair food.

And it’s a small-town tradition that struggles to survive.

It’s no secret that the Curry fair has been on a shoestring budget for years. There’s been no money from the county for years; the gate receipts for entrance fees only cover half the costs of the fair. Longtime Fair Manager Ron Crook was meeting with the fair board treasurer Friday to make sure that cash flow would be safe when $30,000 is paid to entertainers this week.

“Without all the volunteers and sponsorships, we’d have a real problem,” says Crook. But he and his board have been able to scrape together enough in reserves to do some much-needed building repairs on the fairgrounds.

What the fair needs most this week is everyone’s support. Submit your best efforts on entry day early this week, take advantage of the discounted carnival passes on sale before the fair, peruse the special events, and plan to have fun at the fair.

 
New hotel: Facet on a gem
Editorials
July 17, 2013 09:43 am

The Smith River Rancheria deserves congratulations for another success this week with the grand opening of Howonquet Lodge, the latest addition to the Lucky 7 Casino complex along Highway 101 in Smith River.  

The 71-room hotel joins the casino, full-service restaurant and conference hall at the main site, along with the fuel mart/convenience store, and community hall nearby. The entire complex is a far cry from what started as a few dozen slot machines in a double-wide trailer in 1996.

Combined with the location almost within the Redwood National and State Park and only steps from the ocean, the tribe can accurately boast of “a vacation paradise on America’s Wild Rivers Coast.”

All of that just speaks to the facilities for the general public. The United Indian Health Service, tribal housing, day care center, a wastewater system, a transportation plan, scholarships, and an RV park in the works — they are all tangible additions to what the tribal council calls “our vision of building a healthy, self-reliant community.”

While the tribal enrollment is only 1,440 people, the economic impact extends much further. Total annual employment is now about 200 people at the rancheria, with a total annual payroll of more than $4 million.

The new hotel is just an additional facet on a gem that is already shining in our community. The rancheria leadership and the tribal membership can be proud of what they have accomplished.

 
<< Start < Previous page 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next page > End >>

The Pilot front page

Get home delivery of the Curry Coastal Pilot in Brookings-Harbor for only $4 a month or $48/year. By mail, subscriptions are $55 a year outside of Curry County. After filling out one simple and secure online form, you could be on your way to learning more about Brookings-Harbor, Curry County and America's Wild Rivers Coast.
subscribe

Follow Curry Coastal Pilot headlines on Follow Curry Coastal Pilot headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use