>Brookings Oregon News, Sports, & Weather | The Curry Coastal Pilot

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

News arrow Opinion

Opinion
Letters to the Editor August 3, 2013
Letters
August 02, 2013 09:43 pm
 
Fix homes, create jobs
Editorials
July 30, 2013 08:54 pm
 
Letters to the Editor July 20, 2013
Letters
July 19, 2013 08:29 pm

Our girl is home safe

We are so happy to tell everyone that Marilyn Grimsley is home with her Mother and the rest of her family that loves, and missed her so much. 

To every single person who let us put flyers in your establishments, thank you so much. To every person who called with information or who just called to say they hoped we found her soon and just to help bolster our spirits, thank you. To the Curry County Sheriff’s Office and their personnel who helped us as much as the law would allow, thank you very much. Detective Gardiner thank you, by putting out the alert that we needed to make sure this little girl was OK to other police in Washington and Oregon we were able to find her and bring her home. Thank you. The very happy and relieved Grimsley family. 

Kelly Grimsley,

Brookings

Racial hatred

The title depicts exactly what our Attorney General Eric Holder is doing to our country. You must go back to before the 1960s to see anything this bad.

I was introduced to racial hatred in 1959. The Milwaukee Braves had a working agreement with the Sacramento Solons and they asked the Solons to send me to their spring training so they could see my abilities as a future catcher. I was in awe watching Hank Aaron take batting practice after his winning rookie of the year the year before.

That very day I found out that the black players ( this is before African American was forced on everyone) could not stay in our hotel.

I was appalled. The organization was forced to find black families in Bradenton, Florida, to house those players. 

In 1960 I was drafted by the Philadelphia Phillies and it was the first year that the hotels in Florida opened up for the blacks.

Shortly after Obama was elected by the white vote (more whites voted for him than blacks) Eric Holder said whites were cowards for not discussing racial issues. Since Holder made that statement he has actively and vehemently been a hate monger against whites. He should have been relieved of his duties before “ fast and furious”.

Where are you liberals now that Obama has lost his moncho? If you keep listening to the left wing press and are not getting the truth, then go ahead and stay uninformed. Your readers will skip over your articles, oh wait, you’ve stopped writing.

Clay Dalrymple

Gold Beach

Field day at field day

On behalf of Friends of the Brookings Harbor Aquatic Center, I sincerely hope you had a great time at the Fourth of July BBQ & Field Day at Azalea Park! 

It was so wonderful to see families, friends and visitors in our local park enjoying each other’s company and celebrating the Fourth of July. We have so many thanks to offer for ensuring the success of our event! 

Our amazing volunteers! Wow. You are incredible and really put yourself out there to make sure our event was that much better. We even had folks attending who helped out when needed! Thank you! 

Thanks to the City of Brookings for letting us use the park, the USCG Chetco River Station Color Guard, Les Cohen, our MC, Steve Braun our Pie auctioneer, Moonspoon for providing some fantastic live music, Alex Escobar for singing the national anthem, Drop It Low Entertainment our DJ, and our Best Pie Ever judges: Les Cohen, Steve Braun, Sean Solomon, and Robert Dahl. We appreciate all of our sponsors who supported this event and the work that we are doing. Thank you for your support and helping to make this event possible! 

We also appreciate all the retailers, local crafters and donors to our silent auction, contests and raffle. You have been unbelievably generous to us and we thank you. This event offers just a glimpse of the vitality an indoor recreation and aquatic center could add to our community. 

Let’s Make It Happen. 

Juliane Leighton, MD FBHAC chair/director This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it , www.fbhac.org

Brookings

 
Something for everyone
Editorials
July 19, 2013 08:28 pm

The Event Center at the Beach is buzzing with activity as volunteers and vendors, cooks and cowgirls, entertainers and exhibitors all get ready for the 101st edition of the Curry County Fair.

It’s a slice of Americana that offers something for everyone. Robotics, dog show, baby races, a magician, condors, a battle of the bands, motorsports, a drum corps, BMX riding, livestock auctions, and lots of traditional fair food.

And it’s a small-town tradition that struggles to survive.

It’s no secret that the Curry fair has been on a shoestring budget for years. There’s been no money from the county for years; the gate receipts for entrance fees only cover half the costs of the fair. Longtime Fair Manager Ron Crook was meeting with the fair board treasurer Friday to make sure that cash flow would be safe when $30,000 is paid to entertainers this week.

“Without all the volunteers and sponsorships, we’d have a real problem,” says Crook. But he and his board have been able to scrape together enough in reserves to do some much-needed building repairs on the fairgrounds.

What the fair needs most this week is everyone’s support. Submit your best efforts on entry day early this week, take advantage of the discounted carnival passes on sale before the fair, peruse the special events, and plan to have fun at the fair.

 
New hotel: Facet on a gem
Editorials
July 17, 2013 09:43 am

The Smith River Rancheria deserves congratulations for another success this week with the grand opening of Howonquet Lodge, the latest addition to the Lucky 7 Casino complex along Highway 101 in Smith River.  

The 71-room hotel joins the casino, full-service restaurant and conference hall at the main site, along with the fuel mart/convenience store, and community hall nearby. The entire complex is a far cry from what started as a few dozen slot machines in a double-wide trailer in 1996.

Combined with the location almost within the Redwood National and State Park and only steps from the ocean, the tribe can accurately boast of “a vacation paradise on America’s Wild Rivers Coast.”

All of that just speaks to the facilities for the general public. The United Indian Health Service, tribal housing, day care center, a wastewater system, a transportation plan, scholarships, and an RV park in the works — they are all tangible additions to what the tribal council calls “our vision of building a healthy, self-reliant community.”

While the tribal enrollment is only 1,440 people, the economic impact extends much further. Total annual employment is now about 200 people at the rancheria, with a total annual payroll of more than $4 million.

The new hotel is just an additional facet on a gem that is already shining in our community. The rancheria leadership and the tribal membership can be proud of what they have accomplished.

 
Letters to the Editor July 17, 2013
Letters
July 17, 2013 09:40 am

How does it sound?

In the article “Lottery, Not Taxes” (July 3, 2013) JR Wilson states that under his proposal he would receive 2 percent for his work. He is simply creating income for himself! 

He also goes on to state that the county’s percentage of the funds would be capped but doesn’t indicate the percentage. Nowhere in the article did he state that his percentage would be capped! This is not a one time fee for his work! 

Mr. Wilson proposes the lottery to be overseen by five members, including at least three volunteers, a citizen appointed by the copyright holder (HELLO!), and possibly a county commissioner. Are you willing to volunteer while he gets rich? Also this citizen that “he” appoints will not be a volunteer! Are you willing to give him this much control over our county? 

Does this sound like a man who is in search of answers for our county or for one of his friends and himself? 

Janet Walter 

Brookings

College challenge

RE: Letter to the editor from Greg Christensen, “Oregon State University student” apparently from Harbor (July 3, 2013):

My goodness! Let’s hope this O.S.U. student is not a product of our local school system, as he seems to have missed the parts about civil rights and history and certainly problem solving. 

His solution is hardly “simple,” as he claims. If Oregon could charge an entry fee, every state could charge an entry fee, and how much more attractive Hawaii looks than a mere $5! 

And his mention of toll roads and bridges to enforce his argument fails miserably as there are always alternate routes with no toll. O.S.U. students miss understanding that the “I” in I-5 or I-205 or I-80, short for “Interstate,” and the “U.S.” part of 101 and 99 and 97 mean that these highways belong to the nation, not the state. 

Finally, who’s collecting entry fees at seaports, airports, and all the forest service and other roads crossing our border? Maybe we need a wall similar to the one that fails to keep the “illegals” from entering the U.S. from Mexico.   

To this University of Oregon graduate, it makes perfect sense that Mister Christensen is a student at Oregon State. You see, we from the Eugene school have long suspected very low or non-existent entrance requirements for his school in Corvallis. (Please, no cards, letters, emails, textings, or phone calls. This is an old and enjoyable rivalry.) 

Chuck Weller

Brookings

Lane solution here

I follow closely what is going on back home in Curry County. 

I come back often, and am very up-to-date on the budget issues plagued by the loss of timber funds. I also know that nobody wants a county-wide public safety tax, especially when the three cities already pay for their own police force. 

Well let me offer this solution I have seen my neighbor Lane County put to work. How about asking Sheriff Bishop the annual cost for fully operating the jail, at full capacity, and put that amount to the voters for a five-year levy. Each city wants a jail for their unruly, but they don’t want to pay for more law enforcement they may not use. 

Sheriff Bishop can use this levy to pay the jail to operate, and what little he saves from the general fund can go to another deputy or the community corrections program. 

A sales tax would just be the beginning of the end. Remember what small percentage California started at? 

The lottery? Nice idea but before the state is through with their lawyers appealing it the county will have been sold at auction. 

Try the jail levy. It’s just a small amount more and will do a large amount of good for everyone. 

Next step? Get DeFazio to stump for the turnover of federal land to the county. Just 500,000 acres will keep the engine running for years.

John Spada

Harrisburg

Why just these two?

Believe it or not there are still plenty of people who read the Letters to the Editor. Some actually read mine and since I have not written lately they actually asked me if I moved.

Well I do not write just to stir the pot and I do not write just to see my name in print. If I see something that really “gets my goat” I will write to the Pilot and maybe it will get into print. Sometimes. 

I do not know Mr. Smith or Mr. Itzen and wonder why just two of the commissioners should be recalled. For years now, practically ever since we moved here from Rhode Island, large groups of Brookings and Harbor residents have asked for elimination of the four commissioners program. Large salaries and benefits could be put to much better use ... sheriff, police, etc. 

Why can’t we have a town manager who knows how to conduct the business of budgets, staffing of various departments and how to use our money to the best possible advantage. I guess it has been impossible, but I still want to know why these two gentlemen have been selected to be ousted.

Thank you for any response.

Geraldine Kass, no longer cranky

Harbor

Divine comedy

Oh my God! Bankruptcy.

Well, maybe not. Let’s raise property taxes; no, that didn’t work. Let’s go for a sales tax and spend money on a special election. Not a good idea, but we’ve got to do something to keep the state from taking over. Why don’t we borrow $750,000 from the road fund and fund the Sheriff’s Office for a year. Seems to be a good idea; of course we can’t pay it back. If we get rid of one commissioner we can pay the interest.

Actually, we have $55,000,000 for the next fiscal year; that’s $555,555.55 for each of our 99 employees.

Hey! Why don’t we get rid of 10 employees and give the sheriff $5,555,555.55

The reason there will probably be a recall is they only need 1542 signatures. Why? Because you nitwits didn’t vote.

OK, the recall isn’t such a bad idea, except for the money it will cost.

I could support Home Rule, but it won’t save any money and you are off to a bad start if you want to keep the persons involved in a recall effort, duh!

If you don’t want Brookings to grow at least be honest and don’t lie about new businesses. Competition is good for everyone and it might force some to improve.

And finally: Lady, if you didn’t like the fireworks, next time donate and maybe you can ride a rocket.

(P.S. If it’s free, quit complaining.)

Clifton Siemens

Brookings

 
<< Start < Previous page 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next page > End >>

The Pilot front page

Get home delivery of the Curry Coastal Pilot in Brookings-Harbor for only $4 a month or $48/year. By mail, subscriptions are $55 a year outside of Curry County. After filling out one simple and secure online form, you could be on your way to learning more about Brookings-Harbor, Curry County and America's Wild Rivers Coast.
subscribe

Follow Curry Coastal Pilot headlines on Follow Curry Coastal Pilot headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use