>Brookings Oregon News, Sports, & Weather | The Curry Coastal Pilot

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

News arrow Opinion arrow Letters to the Editor arrow Letters to the Editor published Wednesday, Sept. 8, 2010

Print

Letters to the Editor published Wednesday, Sept. 8, 2010

Thank you all for returning our Chloe

Editor:

Aug. 16th Chloe was returned!

I want to thank the Brookings-Harbor community for all their support.

Special thanks to KURY Radio, (Steve, Debi and all the DJs), the Curry Coastal Pilot, and Crescent City radio stations, Rhonda Cornelius for her perseverance and moral support, Chloe’s grandpa Norris Pierce who was the one who picked her up. Sheriff John Einsley and Catherine at Gold Beach Humane Society.

Marci at Puppy Love who cleaned her up, Chloe was in bad shape!

Miracles do happen! And thank you to the people who returned her. Gold Bless.

Rebecca McFarland and Norris Pierce

Brookings


Not impressed with Robinson’s views

Editor:

I went to the Art Robinson event; one that he “pretended” was scheduled as a debate, all the time knowing that DeFazio was not able to make it.

So what did I learn? Art does not believe in “climate change”; however, he is in the minority. Everything I found on the Internet (wonderful invention that!) says most “climate scientists” believe it is real.

Art wants to eliminate the Department of Education and I guess put it back into state control. Great; then states with racists and bigots (they do still exist!) can discriminate against people different from themselves. And I guess that means he has no respect for any school teachers. (Thanks, Art.) Gee, I do and I think they get poorly paid most of the time for the work they do.

It appears that Art and his children (as I look over his home-school curriculum; yes, he does sell one) believe in this Christian-based schooling. As someone who believes that organized religion is for the most part destructive to society, this curriculum would be the last thing I would have used to educate my six children. Furthermore, if I wanted to live in a country run by religious fanatics I would just move to Iran! Not everyone in our country is a Christian; many of the most generous, giving, honest folks I know are not religious. They choose to get their reward here on earth by doing for others.

Anne O’Dell

Brookings


Biggest speech of Obama’s career!

Editor:

A Great Day Has Dawned that wasn't a speech it was the truth and it was done with articulation and resolve.

President Obama just gave the biggest speech of his career and, as I expected, it was powerful and true in the way he spoke .

I am proud to support him in this time of despair. We can only hope those Americans who feel the need to say NO to any policy shall fail, and our great nation shall rise from the Hate and Fear, and threats of WAR, and begin to awaken to the truth he just spoke of .

We as a nation shall endeavor to persevere. His presidency will bring us out of our economic strife and we shall rise once again to greatness. Our economy and the middle class shall, too, become solvent and secure.

Gary Davis

Harbor


Election’s coming, are you ready?

Editor:

Were you watching, Curry County? 

Our tea party members on the east coast certainly proved to the country who’s charged up, and ACORN (Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now)  had nothing to do with the feeling running through the veins of a united America on the right of moderate.

Glen Beck’s Martin Luther King Jr. memorial held in D.C. was remarkable, and every time a liberal makes a derogatory statement about the event proves what hypocrites they truly are.

Most of active voting Curryites are center right and we can’t control who will win the house seat 5th District, but let’s take care of home base and let the rest take care of itself.

Those of you on the left who plan on voting for DeFazio and Wyden realize that you’re happy with the economy, healthcare, Social Security, 25 percent bigger government this past year, and higher taxes for those already paying 85 percent of our federal taxes. If you said yes you deserve Pelosi, Reid, and Obama’s ideology that could bring our country down. Call me a bigot, racist or whatever pleases you, but it’s your country, too, and remember this plan of Obama’s has never worked and it’s been tried plenty of times throughout history.

Art Robinson is a bright man and understands what we need  to clean up the mess accumulated by a Democratic House and Senate.

It took eight years for the elite press and liberals to vilify the Bush adminstration. It took the same people 18 months to embarrass themselves and their party.

Clay Dalrymple

Gold Beach


Never-failing effort to help the needy

Editor:

Once again a big thank you to our community for your support and donations to our food drive on Aug. 14. Over 800 pounds of food was put on our shelves.

It is no big surprise to us that almost all of it is gone!

We have seen record increases for our services this year. Thanks to the generous people of Brookings-Harbor we have been able to keep our doors open; however, there are times we do not have the amount or variety of items we would like to offer our families.

Winter is upon us and budgets will be stretched even further to pay costs for heating, clothing, etc. in the cold, rainy months ahead.

Please remember that we offer services all year, no matter the season, and the need has never been greater.

Times are tough our there folks, and we need your help to continue to feed our less-fortunate friends and neighbors.

You never fail to help meet our needs and we truly appreciate your continued support.

Maureen Kee, volunteer Brookings-Harbor Community Food Share

 

DeFazio on right side of the issues

Editor:

It is true that Peter DeFazio has done some disappointing things, the last few years.

He should never have voted for that stupid Obama Health Care bill and I was severely disappointed when he did not support the border patrol agents Ramos and Compeon, and when he did not support the impeachment drive against the war criminals known as Bush and Cheney.

All that being said, I feel that Art Robinson and his supporters have simply not made the case for kicking DeFazio out of office.

Peter DeFazio should absolutely be re-elected.

Congressman DeFazio has been on the right side of the immigration and trade issues when traitors like Obama, Clinton and Bush have been stabbing us in the back for decades.

DeFazio voted against the treasonous TARP (Troubled Asset Relief Program) bailout bill for Wall Street when idiots like Obama, McCain, Nancy Pelosi and Sarah Palin were all for it.

Peter DeFazio was an early supporter of the Ron Paul bill to audit the Federal Reserve Bank.

Too bad that anti-American creeps like Barney Frank and Chris Dodd chose to water down the bill.

I would love to see the Democrats get dumped on their backsides and lose control of Congress in November. They deserve to lose, just like the Bush-league Republicans lost in 2006 and 2008. Peter DeFazio should be re-elected, though.

He has been far too good a Congressman for far too long for us to turn our backs on him now.

Jim Hyslop raised some concerns about Art Robinson’s views on women and minorities in the Aug. 18 edition of the Pilot.

How come there has been no response?

Joe Thomas

Brookings


Heartbreaking changes at mission

Editor:

My heart is broken. Why? Because of the changes that have taken place at The Gospel Mission.

I arrived homeless in Brookings on Jan. 24, 2008. I am not the typical homeless person. I still had a car. I had been addicted to prescription pain pills, went thru detox, and tried to work for a year. I have a failed back surgery, carpal tunnel, fibromyalgia and arthritis. If His Haven had not been there, I would have been sleeping in my car (which I did one night).

2008 was the coldest winter with temperatures as low as 36 degrees. Debbie Peterson was the manager at His Haven and from the time I arrived, I felt not only her love, but the love of God. While I was there from January through August on and off, there were 14 women who were helped, two with children.

From the time Emma resigned and then Chuck and Ray, things have changed, and I am very concerned. Where do women and children now go? I saw Debbie cry many times when she had to turn women away for different reasons. She definitely had a heart for the homeless and God’s work, as did Ray. I never really knew Chuck personally, but as he was the director at the time, I would have to say he was definitely a man of God. What now?

Wake up Brookings! I married the love of my life in August 2008, got approved for my Social Security disability in December 2008, and yes, Debbie, Ray and Chuck changed my life and my husband’s, Robert Silva. As some of you know he passed on February 20, 2010, from heart failure and I have temporarily left to help some of my family members.

A huge thank you to all of you that helped me! And, you know who you are.

Donna King Silva

Daytona Beach, Fla.


Questions about Robinson abound

Editor:

Ad in your paper Aug. 28, 2010, stated “Art Robinson will be debating Peter DeFazio. ...” Aug. 31, 2010, in Brookings.

What a crock!

Typical of Robinson and his supporters to imagine things that are not going to happen. He tells people who might look at his website to homeschool to protect their children from society (paraphrase). He sells a set of CDs for home schooling and his major reference books included in the curriculum: nearly 100 year old encyclopedia and dictionary. The only things that will do is perpetuate the ignorance of the people who choose to buy it and save Robinson from having to pay copyright fees.

Poor, deluded followers put his signs on their pickups and vans. Check it out. Where did he get his education? Did any of his children attend public institutions of higher learning? Is not that public school?

How many people of the estimated 200 showed up to see a debate? I saw no protest that the advertising was false. Mr. DeFazio has agreed to four public debates in September and October.

Chuck Weller

Brookings


Robinson is the wrong choice

Editor:

With your background as a scientist, people expect that you’re dedicated to sound information and accuracy. So it was a surprise to find your brochure loaded with mistakes and inaccurate information.

For example, you say Americans “buy 30 percent of their energy from unstable nations abroad.”

WRONG!

We get most of our imported energy from Canada –yes, Canada.

Then there are your claims about Ronald Reagan.

Yes, he cut taxes – once! But he raised taxes four times after that, including higher business taxes. On top of that, our national debt tripled during Reagan’s two terms, not because he lowered taxes – taxes are actually lower today – because he dramatically increased government spending.

And your claim, “U.S. nationalizes medical industry” is completely untrue. Only one major nation has nationalized medical care – Great Britain.

And here in the U.S., we don't even have price controls on prescription drugs, which is why so many are forced to turn to Canada or other countries for their drugs.

Also, you state: “Nuclear power – the greatest technological advance in human history.” Wrong again. There are at least a half dozen more important historic advances, including agriculture, the wheel, mathematics, the compass, the automobile, the airplane, and the microprocessor.

Candidate Robinson, you're obviously the wrong choice for Congress.

Jim Hyslop

Brookings

 

Public forum without merit

Editor:

In Mike Rockey’s recent public forum his aversion to increasing our taxes to fund the Sherif’s Office is understandable but the rest of his article is shameful nonsense and generally without merit.

To assert that the face of Curry County will change terribly if the law enforcement levy is successful is foolish.The list of bad-things-sure-to-happen looks like a script from a third rate Hollywood disaster movie. The writer is probably correct however that the Sheriffs Office personnel don’t possess an abundance of academic degrees and high-powered training. However, they do possess the qualities needed in order to successfully fulfill their public safety responsibilities: Courage. Years of experience in successfully addressing criminals and criminal behavior in our community. An exceptionally well-developed street sense. A positive and productive attitude in the face of often lousy circumstances. The desire and ability to do good for others.

Certainly the academics and degrees are critical and our local law enforcement community does possess such qualifications. But academics are not the foundation of good law enforcement. Finally, to criticize the physical size and fitness of the sheriff and his deputies is downright childish. I have a suspicion that if you were ever in a tug-a-war with a bad guy you’d much rather have a big hombre like the sheriff pulling with you than a skinny guy like me.

Well, think about it Mike. This recent forum demeaning county law enforcement is a genuine load of newt manure. Law enforcement in Curry County from all departments makes a pretty effective team.

Cam Lynn

Brookings


Pilot public forum a cheap shot

Editor:

The Public Forum in Saturday’s (Sept. 4, 2010) Pilot was a cheap shot – low blow. 

Mike Rockey was making some valid points about the law enforcement levy in the beginning of his piece, but his personal attacks against our district attorney and sheriff were irrelevant and uncalled-for. What does a test score or a persons weight have to do with the ballot measure?  Nothing!

Rockey’s comparison of the Curry County Sheriff’s Office with the Oregon State Police is like comparing the Brookings Police Department with the F.B.I. It’s apples and oranges.

Mr. Rockey questioned the education and qualifications of our D.A. and sheriff, two elected officials. I’m sure their resumes will be in the voter pamphlet should they run for re-election. Read it!

The Pilot should have edited Mr. Rockey’s piece for being tasteless. 

Jim Brock

Brookings


Complete trust in Sheriff Bishop

Editor:

I feel that our Sheriff John Bishop has gone from the bottom to the top in 25 years of law enforcement.

I know for sure that he is street wise. Because of his experience alone I have complete trust in the job he does. Whether or not he has a college degree doesn’t matter to me. I’ve seen people with lots of degrees and education and they couldn’t find their way out of a phone booth.

I do a lot of volunteering in this county and I’ve had the privilege and honor of working  with Sheriff Bishop and his staff. I am a Vietnam veteran. John Bishop and his department can come in my foxhole anytime. I’ve seen his people at work and they are very professional.

As far as saying that John Bishop is obese, I would feel sorry for the person that would challenge him. They would think they’d been hit by a Mack Truck. You know the old saying “you can’t judge a book it its cover.” I would like you to tell a 350- pound pro-football lineman that he is obese. I’ve found that these linemen are very quick and in good shape. I know that John Bishop cares about his people and the people in this county. I would follow this man to hell and back.

As far as replacing sheriff’s personnel with civilians, this would be a total cluster screw up. I have a brother who retired with 28 years in law enforcement in Rockford, Ill., and a brother-in-law with 35 years, and a son who has been a deputy in California for 10 years. So I have grown up with law enforcement. I thank you Mr. Rockey for your service (Pilot, Sept. 4). Things are tough all over (in) this country and we need to come together to fix the problems instead of worrying  about obesity and degrees.

 Sam Vitale

Brookings


That Ira Tozer makes me smile

Editor:

Thank you, Ira Tozer, for making me smile. You are special.

Vicki Cooley

Harbor


Too petrified to argue effectively?

Editor:

I have a proposition.

How about, in order to edify the constant debate in our letters section, we all make an effort to cite quoted sources, and use effective argumentation? For instance, if your idea of world peace doesn’t include Christian concepts, discuss what specifically is wrong with the Christian concepts. Stick to the topic at hand without throwing in logically weak devices.

One letter writer squished two unrelated biblical references, ignored the context, and made a jab completely irrelevant to Pastor Jim Schultz’s peace discussion. In addition, Schultz’s argument for world peace in Christian perspective has nothing exclusively Catholic in it, so the uncited, random quote from a pope didn’t affect his argument. Nothing was proven except that the writer is willing to flail air in an attempt at victory.

I am Catholic and am neither disturbed nor amused by random quotes of dubious origin. Show me that you have read John Paul II, Leo XIII, Benedict XVI or any other pope on peace, charity and social justice and I will be impressed.

Another letter writer charged Art Robinson, digging a racist quote out of a book on the candidate’s school reading list and somehow tagging the man with the attitude. Really? Then can we judge the mindset of our school board or public school teachers by any and all content of their high school literature reading lists?

Beware that your preconceived notions do not render you too petrified in opinion to argue effectively.

Valerie Cowan

Brookings


Your vote is only thing they hear

Editor:

Mr. Gordon Clay, you are wrong about me wanting to have everyone forget about the last administration and all its faults.

I actually stated I know Bush was a big problem for this Country and caused a lot of the problems we have now. I simply think it is like beating a dead horse to keep bringing it up. We all know and don't need to be reminded. I am simply stating that in my opinion the present administration has not helped the situation any either. The money keeps flowing and the unemployment lines continue to get longer.

I just think that none of the politicians in office now are listening to WE THE PEOPLE. They have gotten fat and sassy off of you and I. And I see only one way WE THE PEOPLE can send a message to them. Vote them out of office. We can’t do any worse. And they sure don't listen to your or my opinions being expressed all over the country right now.

So what else can we do to help America ? I know all the problems. And am sick of hearing about them. So give me some solutions instead of flack. Just like the parties, fighting each other. They and we need to work together. Let’s send that message. And your vote is the ONLY thing they will listen to.

William Harlan

Brookings


Supporting a one- world government

Editor:

In his letter to the editor of August 28, about our world peace plan, Jim Schultz noted his concern about mankind’s sin, how we must rely on Jesus for world peace.

My organization understands the message Jesus taught, and in fact, we are taking the message to the higher level. The World Peace Plan is based on spiritual teachings, but it is a secular concept. The application of the principles.

We are creating an international government based on the teachings of all the avatars. There is one overview concept, and that is “We Are One,” and no one can be left out of the whole. The spiritual teachings are shrouded in mystery, and it is hard to understand their application in the “real world.” We are opening for debate the concept of the proposed international government. People in 38 countries already support the plan. Read about it at www.oneworldgov.org.

We have an economic stimulus plan to start small businesses that even the Republicans will vote for. Who said miracles don’t happen any more!?

Karen Holmes

Brookings


Appreciate the day off

Editor:

As a full-time caregiver for my family member I would like to commend the wonderful program offered by the Brookings Activity Center.

It is held every Monday and run by a lovely lady named Sally Bogner and her caring volunteers. The participants play games, are treated to music and lunch and sometimes an excursion in the bus to the port for ice cream.

It is a win-win proposition.  A fun day of companionship for the participants and a day off for the weary caregiver. Thank you so much.

For more information call the Brookings Activity Center.

Joy Jackson

Harbor


Vacation Guides a gift for locals, too

Editor:

Thank you Curry Pilot and the Triplicate for printing your wonder-filled semi-annual Vacation Guides. 

You may think only tourists read them, but I can assure you that there are plenty of local residents who take short mini-trips around our area using your Guide as a roadmap.

Why, just as an example, over the Labor Day weekend, with “Coast” in hand, my significant other and I filled up the car’s gas tank and headed for Crescent City. We have been here for 18 years and never yet taken Howland Hill’s bumpy, dusty, unpaved, pothole-ridden and winding road into Stout Redwood Park. Your article in this latest “Coast” Guide convinced us it was a scenic trip worth the effort. What we saw was some of the most awesome scenery this side of Heaven, and the only downside was the incredible amount of dirt that had accumulated on the sides of my car. Still, not nearly the amount of dirt our politicians will be throwing at each other from now until November, and at least we have several great local car washes which can almost instantly get us clean again.

We just would like everyone who reads this letter to check out the Vacation Guide and go off on a spur-of-the-moment mini-trip to seek a place of Wonder whenever they are faced with Worry, Stress or Anger.

Jan Norwood

Brookings

 


Print

The Pilot front page

Get home delivery of the Curry Coastal Pilot in Brookings-Harbor for only $4 a month or $48/year. By mail, subscriptions are $55 a year outside of Curry County. After filling out one simple and secure online form, you could be on your way to learning more about Brookings-Harbor, Curry County and America's Wild Rivers Coast.
subscribe

Follow Curry Coastal Pilot headlines on Follow Curry Coastal Pilot headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use